Africa · Canada · fantasy · Fiction · fun facts · funny · International day of the day · Just stories · Me myself and I · Thoughts · USA

International Day of the Day…

BikiniCookies__66005.1402608178.1280.1280

Bikini day!!

Yes, yes… I know, exciting uh?!? And this is one International Day I couldn’t post about without proper preparation… so here are  14 fun facts about your favorite swimwear, with some of my thoughts on the side…  Enjoy!

 

When the first bikini was introduced in 1946, it was marketed as a two-piece swimming suit that revealed “everything about a girl except her mother’s maiden name.”

Now, this quote I would have attributed to someone I know, had it not been 10 years older than him 😉

 

The most expensive swimsuit in the world is a bikini that is worth $30 million dollars. Designed by Susan Rosen and Steinmetz Diamonds, the bikini is made with more than 150 carats of D flawless diamonds which are all set in platinum

I often said I would never wear a bikini… But I think I’d be tempted to try this one out if offered to. Just for the fun of being able to say I wore more than 30 million $ worth of “clothing”… But not in front of anybody! I’d post a picture (not of me… silly!!), but…. This is a prude Blog, and that would be way too much skin for one of my posts…. Google!!

 

The world’s largest bikini parade took place on November 9, 2009. 287 girls paraded in Johannesburg, South Africa, to raise awareness for breast cancer, which affects one in every 30 South African women

That’s a lot of bikinis walking… Too bad they didn’t find the 13 missing girls, to make an even 300! Dang!

 

 

Perhaps the most celebrated cinematic swimwear moment of all time is when Bo Derek ran down the beach in hair braids and a nude swimsuit in the movie 10. The most celebrated bikini moment was when Ursula Andress emerged from the water donning a white bikini as Honey Ryder in the 1962 Bond film Dr. No.l

 

The world’s largest swimsuit photo shoot took place on September 25, 2001, where a total of 1,010 women wearing bikinis gathered in Sydney, Australia. Coordinated by Cosmopolitan and Venus Breeze, the shoot celebrated “30 Days of Fashion and Beauty.

1010 babes in bikinis… Sorry you missed that one uh, guys?  😉

 

The last time Marilyn Monroe appeared in a bikini on screen was in the 1962 film Something’s Got to Give

What about the first time? And how many times in total? Lacking thoroughness here!

 

leia

There were two versions of the famous metallic bikini that Princess Leia wore in Star Wars, Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983): one was made from hard metal that actress Carrie Fisher wore during slow-action scenes; the other was made from a more comfortable rubber piece that she wore when she was performing stunts. There is an entire Web site devoted to Princess Leia’s bikini

Ok, I could be tempted to try this one too, for two reasons…  BIG Star Wars fan! And what guy never fantasized about Princess Leia? I could say I’ve been that close to almost be something to fantasize about, LOL

 

La Femme is an all-female beach in Egypt, away from the prurient view of men and cameras, where Muslim women can replace their long head and body coverings with bikinis without feeling as if they are sinning

Nothing to say here… Except going from burka to bikini seems pretty extreme for me… And imagining these women wading in the sea and enjoying belly dancing… Ok, that’s all I have to say.

 

The original bikini was created by automobile engineer Louis Reard (1897-1984) and consisted of only 30 square inches. Reard declared it wasn’t a real bikini unless it could be “pulled through a wedding ring”

Here, the lack of precision disappoints me… Give me all the time I need, and the ring of a man with nice large hands, and I am pretty sure I can pull my one piece through the ring! Wedding ring, that is… Which to me is useless information, proving Louis’ poor sense of priorities when it came to details. And, oh, if I did pull my one piece through some nice, sharing dude’s ring (wedding one, of course), chancing to be caught by his not quite agreeing wife… “Why did you take your wedding ring off?? Are you flirting with her??!!” “No Ma’am, he’s just being helpful!” “Then why are you naked, only wrapped in a beach towel, and you (pointing finger at poor man who must regret the very moment he agreed on lending me his ring, which was about 5 minutes ago), why have you taken your ring off while talking to an almost naked girl??” Me holding my hand up to answer, the other one holding tight to my towel… “Sorry Ma’am, I would have kept my swimsuit on, but it would have been a lot longer to pull it through your husband’s ring!”… Resulting on me having to pull the one piece while avoiding being hit by all kind of flying objects coming from angry wife cursing in a language I wouldn’t know. Rushing to give back ring (wedding, very obviously now) to now imploring husband unsure to live to see another day, hoping putting back ring (wedding) on husband’s finger will stop the turmoil. Which it wouldn’t, since angry wife isn’t a fan of the sight of half-naked girls touching hands with already dead husband! (And by dead, I of course mean an evening of screaming, followed by a life sentence of  occasional reminders of “that time with the half-naked-girl”) I am just trouble!!  Yeah so IF I did get that dang one piece bathing suit in that dang ring… Could I really call it a genuine bikini? I think not!

(did I get a bit lost here??)

 

 

bikinimink

Sex symbol Diana Dors appeared at the 1955 Venice Film Festival in a mink bikini

Is it just me, or is she wearing a furry version of my jerky panties???  (see https://cyranny.wordpress.com/2016/06/09/beefy-international-day-of-the-day/ )

 

The bikini was worn for the first time by French model and nude dancer Micheline Bernardini for a poolside fashion show at the Piscine Molitor in Paris on July 5, 1946. She later received 50,000 fan letters

Back then, the Internets had not entered our lives (my life hadn’t even started yet… nor my parents’ for that matter… And 50 000 fan letters, that must be like around a Billion “likes”. ( am considering shooting a poolside little something for you readers…. 😉 What do you say…  would you have a little “like” in store for me?? )

 

At the first Miss World competition in 1951, Kiki Hakansson of Sweden became the first and last to wear a bikini for her crowning ceremony. Her bikini-clad crowning prompted a condemnation from the pope, and countries such as Spain and Ireland threatened to withdraw from the event

I’m sorry, I like anecdotes including popes. I just do, don’t judge me!

 

The 1960 popular song “Itsy-Bitsy Teenie-Weenie Yellow Polka-Dot Bikini” triggered bikini sales in the U.S. This song, coupled with the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition, helped mainstream the bikini in the U.S

I had that song in my head all day… Yet, I don’t feel the urge to buy a bikini. I guess it doesn’t work with everybody?? Or maybe just Americans??

 

In 2005, American women spent almost $1.4 billion on two-piece bathing suits and swim separates

Note; I had to learn about short scale and long scale just for you readers, and it seems that the US use the short kind….  Meaning that after estimating the number of females in the US in 2005 (I rounded up at 160 millions)… it roughly means that each one, in average, spent 8,75$…  Less impressive stat, uh? Ok, you’ll say that not all of them bought bikinis, but still. I stand to my point!

 

Voilà….   🙂

 

Interesting facts, courtesy of :  http://facts.randomhistory.com/swimwear-facts.html

 

8 thoughts on “International Day of the Day…

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 I really like your “Posts of Note” idea, it is a great way to discover and promote bloggers, would you mind if I borrow the concept sometime soon? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

