Africa · Blogging · Canada · Me myself and I · Thoughts

The little things…

Sometimes it is the little things that make a difference in life.

You can’t win the loterie’s jackpot everyday. You can’t get promoted, find the love of your life and have that exhilirating butterfly-in-the-stomach feeling every time the sun greets us with another day…

Just not possible. And not to be wished for either, because we’d simply get used to what is otherwise exciting.

The contrary is also true. No one is unlucky enough to live in perpetually dramatic life.

Little things can have great influence over how we judge our day when we head to sleep. The sum of  little good things and little bad things tells us if we had a rather good or bad day. Or so I thought…

But what if it was our focus that made the difference? I am working on it, but it is not an easy task, let me tell you that!

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about my years in Africa. We lived in a poor country, to North American and European’s standards, but people there were much happier overall. Guineans were always all smiles, and made the most of their situation.

Here in Canada, people in general are quick to focus on the negative. When you watch the news, listen to the radio or just share smalltalk with coworkers, it is always about the latest negative anecdote… I don’t pretend to be better than that, but I am really trying to change my own focus.

I try to notice and remember the good little things happening when the day comes to an end.

My day is not over yet, but if I look back on how it went so far, I can tell that;

  • I got to sleep late, since it was a day off work for me. Always nice!
  • I spent some nice chit-chat time with chéri and his best friend, catching up on good old times. Sure thing for a good laugh or two!
  • I have talked to a dear friend, whose voice I don’t get to hear as often as I would wish, putting a smile on my face for the rest of the day.
  • My little brother is coming over to eat with us, which has been decided last minute, making it a nice little surprise.

 

And the negative?…  Why talk about it?

I’ll keep my frowns for when things really go wrong.

Hopefully, the good moods these little things have put me in will have influenced the people I was in touch with in a positive way, helping them to look back on their day with a smile too!

How was your day, today?

 

2 thoughts on “The little things…

  1. In this stage of my life, every day ends on a positive note because it’s just a waste of precious time to dwell on negative things. And that’s why I stuff my freezer with ice cream bars, because I deserve a treat!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

