A to Z Challenge · Blogging · Canada · Me myself and I · Thoughts

E like eulogy… (the A to Z Challenge)

nurseryletter-elegant-e

 

Eulogy… Sounds like fun, doesn’t it??

I’m all about fun… Almost… Trying, at least. But I promise this will end well!

Eulogy… Basically one’s last tribute. Some might think that I am a little too young to think about that, but I would beg to differ. No one’s too young! Death can strike at any time, and better be prepared than sorry. Then again, if I suddenly died unprepared, I’d probably not be all that sorry, not being there anymore… I guess we’ll all have to wait to know for sure!

Anyway…

I wonder what people would have to say about me if I died today. It kind of scares me. I am not a control freak, far from it, but Eulogy wise, I’d like to have my word to say. Maybe I could prepapre a message from me to my loved (and not so loved) ones, to be read at my funerals…

But before we get to that… A little flashback on younger years.

There are lessons we learn in life that never leave you, and stick to you like a second skin… And in times of distress, a wise woman explained to me that life was about putting things into perspective.

No matter how bad things get in life, as long as your life is not in jeopardy, there’s always a way out of your problems… When you sit back, and think about it, it really makes sense. It doesn’t mean that it will always be easy to get out of trouble, but there is always a solution somewhere out there, if you’re really willing to find it.

At that time, being anxious about a lot of (sometimes minor) things, I gave myself a motto. I worked hard on saying it aloud each and every time I felt nervous about something.

It’s not grave!

Which was true. As long as I was safe from all life threatening happenings, nothing had to be considered grave. It really helped me get through easy and harder challenges life threw at me. (but it takes a lot of patience and dedication)

One day, while riding from Montréal to Trois-Rivières alone with dad, we had a strange, but funny conversation… We planned amusing funerals! Theme funerals seemed to be a good idea. Aside from the fact that it would de-dramatize our passing, imposing a theme would filter the people who really cared from those who’d just show up to feel they were doing the right thing.

I don’t remember dad’s choices, but I was puzzled between “Rio Carnival” and “The Circus”… And I remember having a real good laugh imagining people dressed up around the coffin, eating toffee apples…

And it popped in my mind…

I made dad promise, if I died before him, to get me the smallest tombstone he would find, and have the following engraved on it;

Now, that’s a little grave!

(Get it? It’s been years and I still find it insanely funny 🙂 )

Ok, back on the Eulogy track now… So, getting older, I’ve given up on the Circus themed funerals, but I still hope my family would respect my will to have this tiny humorous stone…

Ceremony wise, I wouldn’t want a “step on stage and tell us about Cyranny” thing… I don’t feel like a failure, but I have failed number of people along the way. I could call mysefl a failures collector, and that doesn’t call for praises.

I’d rather write that goodbye message, and leave things to that. Too bad my family doesn’t have an English speaking background, because I’d most certainly ask Sarah Doughty to put my thoughts into words… Leaving my family and friends with a poetic and inspiring speach from the other side!

And then, people could listen to some of my all time favorite tunes, and look at pictures of the crazy stuff I did in my life, and the wonderful places I have been along the journey…

And enjoy toffee apples and cotton candy on their way out…   😉

Until then, keep in mind,

It’s not grave! 

 

Leave a Reply

