Blogging · Canada · Denmark · Dreams · Me myself and I · Thoughts · Travel

Hello, World!

Myworld2060806.png

Yes, with an exclamation mark, nothing less!

During the week end, I checked out my statistics a bit. I try my best not to spend too much time worrying about them, because it would surely suck the fun of Blogging out of the Cove for good!

Statistics are tricky…

When things are going well, let’s say like July 28th, when I got 27 visitors, and 72 views (mirror numbers, I like that 🙂 ) – my greatest day stats-wise of all time – I get really excited. I know that I owe most of that day’s success to Danny, but it was thrilling nonetheless to see the numbers adding up!

When things are not going so well, like yesterday (11 visitors, 15 views)… I used to have doubts. Ok, I still do sometimes… Was my Blogging less interesting than usual? Were people disappointed? And I try to find reasons… “It is Sunday night, people are probably busy elsewhere… It is summer, people are probably out enjoying it…”

I recently read an interesting post about comparing stats with other Bloggers… (tried to find it back to link it, but I couldn’t, dang! Dang! Dang!) And how you always had the choice to either envy others or get inspired by them. I don’t tend to envy others, so I try to let people inspire me as much as possible… Along the way, I noticed that some of my favorite Bloggers were getting more Likes for one post than I get in a full week. And I wondered if I’d ever get that far in the Blogging world.

I’ve had talks with insecure Bloggers that have way better stats than me, making me wonder what I am doing here… Hey, if you wonder if your words are worth going public with over a thousand followers, how should I feel about putting my guts online for a hundred and ten? (by the way…. I looooove you, my dear 110!! xXxXxXx)

I’ve made my peace with my loved ones not reading this Blog. At first, I had a few friends visiting regularly. Then the interest faded, and eventually, they stopped reading altogether. I will not lie, at first it made me sad. It made me doubt my writing too. (if the people who love me aren’t interested in what I have to say, how can I possibly entertain or be of any interest for people who don’t even know me?)

But I realized two things… First, I was in no position to expect friends and family to follow my Blog, and second, it was a fairly good thing they didn’t, in the end. Because knowing people dear to me were reading my words kept an extra pressure to perform. I wanted to make them laugh, or make them think, but most of all, I didn’t want to cause drama in my everyday life. Because I have one, you know? 😉

So, World… Here’s where you come in…

Instead of worrying about how many Likes and Views and such I had, I decided to do some coloring… My new Ontarian friend inspired me that way, and I didn’t have to worry about losing my favorite colored crayon, since I colored directly online!

So, if you go back to the beginning of this post, you’ll see where my words have travelled so far! I colored the countries one by one, realizing how amazing it is to know that at least one person in each of those faraway places has been curious about me, at least once! I’ve probably disappointed a few, and didn’t catch the attention of a bunch, but some of you stuck around, and it is truly heartwarming!

I am looking forward to coloring more on that map… Conquering the world in the most harmless way! Sending my words like bottles to the sea, and hoping for a little message back to acknowledge it found curious eyes abroad.

This World post wouldn’t have been complete if I didn’t talk about Denmark… I miss my once daily Dannebrog. I miss it dearly, but I am not bitter when I don’t see it around. On the opposite, I am just that much happier when it does show up unexpectedly… I miss you Denmark, but I am ok with the fact that you choose your readings wisely. And I am happy to see that the posts you choose are usually those I put the most of my heart in, meaning we must still be on the same wave length…

In the meanwhile… I’ll keep coloring you with my stories, World!!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Hello, World!

  1. i, too, worried about people reading my blog..then realized they had lives too and they didn’t revolve around me and my blog. Life is so much easier when ya just accept the ones that show up and are glad they stopped in to read for a bit. Numbers will rise and fall but world domination is a good goal, a better goal. I have seen viral bloggers that haven’t conquered it so we have a chance to go those viruses one better…..one country at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen Suze 🙂

      Now, I don’t even talk about my blogging to people around me… Except Chéri, of course, who has to deal with my daily “gotta note this down for my blog”, or “I gotta take a picture of this” manias. Who knows… one day, I might excuse myself from work to catch a plane to go meet Oprah, and no one here will even know why lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. serve them right…you flying away to be interviewed by famous peeps while they are stuck at home with no fricking clue..all because they can not see the gloriousness of you blog!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Gloriousness…. *blush*

        Suze, I’m bringing you with me and Linda to meet Oprah… In my dreams! lol

        (btw, I don’t even know why I said Oprah, otherwise than because she is dang famous and influencial… There are quite a bunch of famous peeps I’d like to talk to before her… mouahahaha)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Suze, your comment was the first thing I read after getting out of bed… And Chéri was a bit shocked by my LOUD burst of laughter! Thanks for setting up the day’s mood!

        And if we get our hands on one of those time traveling devices, pleaaaase take a picture of Vic’s face when you ask her that question 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

