Fiction · stories · summer

The pier…

2093359510_386254981f_z

 

-You should put on some sunscreen…

She was turning her back to me. Sitting on the end of the dock, he feet were swaying back and forth in the air between the wooden platform and the water. Her pink tank top offered her palish skin to the sun, making me somehow  jealous.

-You shoud grow a brain, and I am not telling you what to do!

I wished I could tell her I’d stay on the pier forever with her, but it was just silly. Spring had died, summer had come, and now it was gone too. I had no way to stop time, though if I did, I would have stopped it here and now, without thinking twice.

We had met by the seashore on a lucky day, had walked for a while, and chanced to spend most of our time together for a while.

She had a way to disappear in the evening and pop back in the morning, so naturally. And my thoughts of her filled the few hours she was where ever she did go, making her presence a constant in my life.

She never wore shoes. I hadn’t noticed at first, but soon it intrigued me… I could aswell have focused on her long black hair, or her freckled nose, but I couldn’t get my attention off her wiggly toes. I came to think she didn’t even own flip flops… She was just odd like that.

We had spent most of our evenings here, on the end of the pier. Dreaming of a life where there would be nothing to do but to stare at the sky together, lying on the wooden deck, or fighting about what the clouds looked like.

It had been the best few months of my life… And I was pretty sure she thought alike.

I had told her, the night before, that our paths would now have to part. She disagreed, thinking that by not giving me the blessing to leave, I’d have no choice but to stay by her side, where I belonged. I wish she had been right…

In the sunset, she had taken my hand unexpectedly. She had a way to make the smallest things mean the world, and I knew it wasn’t just her delicate palm she had put in my shaky hand. Leaning towards her, I had instinctively stolen a kiss from her pink inviting lips, and she hadn’t pulled back, closing her eyes as our mouths joined in the evening’s last sunrays.

But now, she had closed up. I was desperatly seeking a way to make her soften up…

-I have to go but I had to tell you… I…

She just turned her head, her feet still swaying back and forth…

-I…

Her big hazel eyes were teary, but she smiled just the same…

-I…

She seemed to silently implore for something meaningful before I left her to be alone on the pier… our pier…

-I…

The car’s horn surprised us, and I knew I had to go.

-Mom and dad are waiting… I… I…   I’ll write to you when I get home!

I turned back, and ran on the dock, fighting the will to turn my head to look at her again, hearing her footsteps stomping on the wood, following mine for a while. Running away…

Running away from my first summer love…

 

Leave a Reply

