Blogging · Dreams · fantasy · funny · Me myself and I · Thoughts

Do you know who you’re talking to?

27209e35-c0eb-4858-a921-2fd6c5fcd040_1-3cad888c3fc2d78a35e85044f9ac830a

 

Today, my mind went for a trip in La-La Land. Nothing special there, I grant you that!

I was surfing around, looking for a few good picks for my “Nombril de semaine” post of the week, and I was peeking at other bloggers’ number of followers … 1000+, 5000+, 10 000+, 50 000+…

It got me dreaming…

Not that I ever wanted to get famous. I never had that urge for glory, and will to have people recognize me on the street. Ohhh no! I don’t want paparazzi sneaking in my shadow as I go around my local grocery store… I don’t want to be on the the front page of big shot magazines! I don’t want strangers to track my friends, or wonder about  my love life!

That’s probably why I hide behind a nickname (yeah, if you hadn’t figured, it isn’t my real name :P) and display only my traveling feet and occasionally a hand in my pictures… It is not to build up an aura of mystery around myself to drive gentlemen slowly crazy. (Although, that would have been a clever plan! :P) I just like to be anonymous… To my knowledge, no one that knew me before my WordPress adventure began, reads this blog.

So, aside from a few exceptions, all people who come to the Cove, more or less regularly wouldn’t recognize me if I stood right in front of them! And that’s being anonymous, and I like it…

But…

I am only human, with all the failures it implies, and I like attention! Who doesn’t?? I would say I truly started considering the Cove a success (given its reasonable scale) when you Lovelies started talking back! And that just boomed a few weeks ago!

Before that, I was used to a few “likes” and the regular comments from someone I could call my frientor (friend & mentor). Things were very calm in the Cove, and I felt like singers probably feel when they rehearse in an empty room… They know the tickets are getting sold,  but it is nothing like the feeling of the crowd cheering with you!

Where are we heading, Cyranny?

Very clever question… I’m getting to it!

So, daydreaming at my desk, I thought again about the 10 000, 50 000… Hey, let’s go BIG, 100 000 followers…. That would be one busy Cove to take care of! And lots of sushis to roll, and Tequila bottles to buy. A loooot of coffee and hot chocolate to prepare for the chilly winter nights. And decisions like “do I use disposable cups, or real deal mugs??”

I thought, with that many readers, a blogger eventually becomes some kind of a blogging star, right? But I thought what the hell… since I’m just daydreaming, might as well go all the way…

What if the Cove welcomed 1 000 000 people, that walked in and out… Requesting that I have some extra rooms digged out, of course. And maybe hire a caterer, because, you know, I only have 2 hands, and with that many people chit chatting, I would certainly need them 24/7 just to exchange with my Lovelies…

And Cyranny would become a name recognized worldwidly! And everybody would wonder “whooooo  is Cyranny??” And I’d have to pay my friends and family so they wouldn’t tell the tabloids about my true identity.

And then one day, I would be in an airport or something… And some annoying person would give me a hard time going about my business… And in despair, or maybe because of the jetlag, or the lack of sleep… I would step up and say;

me: Do you know who you’re talking to?!

him: Oh?

me: I am Cyranny!

him, with deer-about-to-be-hit-by-a-pickup-truck-in-the-middle-of-the-night look: What?

me: You heard me!

him: OMG!

me: I know…

And he would gently let me go through before harassing some other anonymous traveller….At that point of my daydream, I sat back at my desk in a state of complete satisfaction… With a smile from ear to ear!

See? Even the best get power trips, when given too much attention!

What? That’s absurd? Cyranny’s never going to be a worldwide thing??

Of course not… But I had warned you I was taking a walk in La-La Land, hadn’t I?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Do you know who you’re talking to?

  1. I dream about that too. And I see other blogs that are well, confusing that they have 5000+ followers and I’m over clinking my heels in thanks that I have over 300 perfect people who care what I write. I sound like an asshole saying that out loud I think, but I am just sharing… I just want to be heard and connected. That’s all that matters in life right? Well, not ALL but you get the drift I’m sure. One day… we’ll daydream together, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG, are we blogtwinsisters seperated at birth?? lol

      I too felt a bit shameful to imagine being the ‘big thing’ when I am more than greatful for each and everyone of my lovelies… But you can’t fight human nature, I guess 😉

      Thanks for visiting the Cove, and I hope to see you around again in the future 🙂

      Dream on! *hug*

      Like

  2. Everyone who like’s to blog dreams of this I think. My main dream is becoming good enough to eventually blog for websites etc from home so I can be home with my children. Everyone wants to work from home and my creativity and skills of blogging are beginner level in comparison. However, that doesn’t stop me from trying. I say the more followers you have the better you’ll get and the more opportunities you’ll have. Good luck. I enjoyed the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot for the comment!

      I think you are right, no one builds a blog hoping not to be read, appreciated and told so. It is just within us to seek approval, and being part of a virtual community feels good 🙂

      I hope you find a way to make a living out of your writing, giving you the chance to stay home with your children!

      I share your feeling of still being at beginner level, blogging-wise… Even after almost a year of active posting! The key to growing is creating a network, and I saw on your blog you already joined Danny’s Meet & Greet event, which will surely give your site a little boost 🙂

      Best of luck! I’ll keep an eye on your blog, and hope you’ll visit the Cove again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

