Blogging · Fiction · stories

Fading memory…

shutterstock_228693202

 

If someday my memory just dries away, read me your best story every night… Over and over and over again. Every evening, after every sunset, tell me those same words, and bring me with you down the same road. Tell me about the same stars, and the same sighs, and the same dreams… Don’t change the plot, or the very details… Just read it to me, time after time, restlessly. Until that day when you’ll see my eyes sparkle just before the best part…

And then you’ll know, that your words will live within me forever…

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Fading memory…

      1. Your memory posting was beautiful and touched us so. I shared your site and it with my best friend, my wife, and my favorite movie-watcher partner. She knew immediately to what your posting meant. We’ll done. (She’s read the book.) Now you’ll have to find the film to see how spot on you are. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. What a sweet warming way to start the week 🙂

        I don’t usually talk about my fiction posts’ origines, preferring to leave interpretation to the readers’ imagination… But this one comes from a mix of my grand mother’s (long) struggle with Alzheimers disease, and my undying love for words 🙂

        I will look out for the movie, and if the memory subject moves you too, I highly recommend “Beautiful memories” (in French, “Se souvenir des belles choses”)… But make sure to have a tissue box nearby 😉

        Thank you for the good words!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

