Blogging · Me myself and I · Thoughts

Old – AKA the dirty word.

Old…

People who know me closely know I hate that word. Unless it is used to describe wine or cheese.

“Old” irritates me. “Old” doesn’t exist in my vocabulary. To the limit, I’ll say older. “Old” people get grumpy and bitter. If you don’t fit those 2 categories, you’re not “old”, you’ve just been young longer than me… Lucky you!

I have a tendency to connect better with older people. It’s always been that way, don’t ask me why, it’s just in me. As a child, I always hung out with grown ups instead of playing with the other kids. In school, I walked with the teacher overlooking the other students during recess, and as I grew older, many of my closest friends were (much) older than me.

Some told me it is because I have an “old” soul. What is that? Could I be the recycling remains of another person?

The first time I remember being told I had an “old” soul, I was 21. I was visiting a friend in North Carolina for a month. My actual first solo trip. My friend’s parents had a bed & breakfast, and I “paid” for my stay doing some chores around the house during the day, while my friend was working. I worked with my friend’s mom, and we spent a lot of time talking about all and nothing.

It was a while ago, but I still remember how she stared me in the eyes one day and said it meanfully. “You have an ‘old’ soul, girl!” I was not sure at first if that was good or bad. Did I have an already worn out soul? It didn’t seem so, she looked happy for me… I took it as a compliment.

“Old” was good… “Old” rhymed with wise. I always looked at it that way.

Don’t get me wrong… I know some people grow old to be bitter and grumpy, and not so wise! But I don’t judge people by the year they were born. If you make me smile, you’re young. Maybe you’ve been young longer than me… but all the better! You probably got to be better at being young than me, with the experience 🙂

And you know what? With time (I know some of you think 38 is young, but everything is relative), I found out that I could now connect with younger people as easily. Maybe because I didn’t introduce myself as the older gal…

I don’t know. I’m not any wiser than anyone of you… But wether you’re younger or older than me, and wether the age difference is of one, or twenty years… If you bring some light in my life, it doesn’t matter the least bit. The only importance, is that you bring something to my journey. And a lot of you do.

So… once and for all, will you people stop using this dang dirty word? “Old” that is.

 

P.S. If you don’t, I’ll personally wash your tongue with soap… And I’ll choose the worse fragrance, believe me!

21 thoughts on “Old – AKA the dirty word.

  1. you have my permission to use any soap EXCEPT “Dial”..that’s what my momma used. ick! Love the post and how a couple of comments from another post inspired this one! you rock, girl! (by the way…an “old” soul means you are much wiser than your years would imply. it is a terrific compliment!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOOOOOL I wouldn’t go down to using Dial… Yuck, I hate “old” but I wouldn’t be “that” cruel 😉

      Thanks for the good words Suze… And I will wear my “old” (don’t wash my mouth with Dial please) soul with pride 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t mind the word old, and I’m proud to be the age that I am (57). I’ve never lied about my age. What’s the point? We all get old. Turning 50 was very liberating and one of the best things that ever happened to me. I highly recommend it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Really does…

        What part of Australia do you live in? (oh and by the way, Chéri and I LOVE the Australian versions of My Kitchen Rules and Masterchef! The overall attitude compared to the American versions is sooo different)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Mouahahahaha so, Mother Nature is bipolar in your part of the world too? Good to know we’re not alone lol

        I’ll have a thought for you when they bring the contestants in the Melbourne area… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

