flags · fun facts · funny · Travel

Looking back on December….

fotolia_59480113_m.jpg

 

2017 already!

A lot of people seem to be saying “at last”, but I really can’t complain. I’ve had some ups and downs, but overall, it was a good year.

And you know what happens at the beginning of every month! (ok, I am a tad late, a third of a month late, blame it on the crazy Holidays) Yes, time to pay the monthly rent. But on the fun part, it is time to check my flag collection! And this time, I have seven new countries to add to my collection!! And they are;

Belarus, Iraq, Israel, Moldova, Morocco, Senegal and last but not least, Somalia!

You know how it goes… (If you don’t know make a research with “Looking back on” and you’ll understand what this is about 😉

So here are a few fun facts to thank and welcome those new countries in the Cove!!

 

Belarus

grunge_flag_of_belarus_by_evmir1-d8pvdom

A fun fact site on The Internets states that “You’ll never see a flat country like this one.” The highest mountain in Belarus being Mount Dzyarzhynskaya with it’s amazing 346 meters of height.

Well now, I don’t want to disappoint you, Belarus, but I have seen a country more flat than that. And no other than Denmark! Sir, yes sir! Vikingland’s highest “mountain” is only 147m high. But I agree, 346 meters, that’s pretty flat too 🙂

 

Iraq

aipjf

 

Iraq first took part in the Olympic Games in 1948 and has only won one medal, a bronze in weightlifting in the 1960 Rome Games. Iraq has never competed in the Winter Games.

Two things… I like to be positive. Iraq, you have won one medal! Woot woot to that! I haven’t won any yet, myself! And as for Winter Games… Good for you! I wouldn’t get out to compete in the cold either 🙂

 

Israel

israel-1157540_960_720

 

 

 

In Israel, the glue behind stamps is kosher. Now, don’t come telling me I never taught ou anything 😉

 

Moldova

moldova

 

The Milestii Mici’s wine collection of 1.5 million bottles has been included in the Guinness World Records at the category The Largest Quality Wine Collection in the World.

Hmmmm…  1.5 million bottles of wine… 😉  I can’t help but wonder if there is a larger collection of “bad quality” wine in the world? It would take one stubborn Guinness World Record seeker to gather that much bad wine, right? Or just someone with poor taste, I guess. But come on, more than 1.5 million bad wine bottles? No… That’d be planin stubborn!

 

Morocco

184241

 

 

 

 

Morocco is the largest processor and exporter of sardines in the world.

I think this might be a fun fact to bring up next time you have dinner with friends! Let’s bet you’ll check your sardines’ can labeling when you buy one!

 

Senegal

grunge_flag_of_senegal_by_evmir1-d8q0nea

 

In Senegal, taxis have tails. Yes, an artificial tail made of goat or sheep hair and it supposedly brings good luck.

You know I always doubt the Internets. Always. So I looked for proof for this one, and though I think not every taxi wears its tail proudly, it seems there is something true in this fun fact!

DSC02726.jpg

 

 

Somalia

2006r

 

Somalia has the cheapest cellular calling rates in Africa, with some companies charging less than a cent a minute.

A good thing to know if you too believe your cellular phone company is ripping you off! Now you know where to move, if you want to cut on your bill significantly! You can thank me later 🙂

 

Voilà!  A warm warm welcome to the seven new countries in my collection of flags! You all made me smile when I saw you for the first time!!

Let’s hope January will be the month of many more new nations joining the Cove!

 

3 thoughts on “Looking back on December….

Leave a Reply

