Blogging · Me myself and I · Thoughts

Wasted talent…

the-fountain-pen-guide

 

I talked about becoming more selfish with my writing yesterday. But I didn’t talk about what had inspired me to write that post…

Not long ago, I had a conversation with a friend, about writing. Well, it actually started with some people we knew who had different talents they could have used to make a living. Talents they mastered, and that were passions but that they kept for themselves.

-Like someone I know, wasting her talent for writing…

What?? When people try to set me off, I just ignore them. But that one hit bullseye, and I couldn’t let it just pass by.

-What??? Wasting my talent??

She said I was good at it.

-How dare you tell me I am wasting talent, when you don’t even read me?

It was true. She had followed the Cove at its beginning, but it had been months since she had commented on anything I had written, giving me a good sign she had put it aside.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I have no problem at all with people not reading my posts. The Cove changes and evolves, and people who liked it at first might not like it anymore. Just like some people probably wouldn’t enjoy my early posts, and really like what I write about now… That’s just life.

I don’t have any problem with people from my surounding not reading me either. Well, I should be honest and sayΒ not anymore. It used to make me sad that the people closest to me wouldn’t be interested in what I was writing. I’ve learned to separate “me” from “my writing”. Some people will like me, just not what I have to say in the Cove. Some people will enjoy my blog and not care about me. Some will like both, and of course, some won’t give a dang about either…. And all of this is fine with me… Now.

But I just couldn’t agree with her. I can’t let people judge what I am or am not doing with my (subjective) writing skills, based on the fact that they like the person I am, and want me to do well in life. I appreciate the good thought behind it, but I just can’t let someone tell me I amΒ wasting it, when they don’t follow my everyday blabberings….

-You should try to do something with it…

Again… What?

News flash! This is the 739th post published in the Cove. I have almost 200 drafted stories (I know… pathetic) and that’s not even counting my “Turtle’s Journey” blog.

I know all too well blogging will not pay my bills. I don’t blog about useful things, that could get me a job in the business. But, I believe it wasn’t a waste of time. It gave my writing a daily workout. It built my confidence. It developped my already creative mind. It brought some discipline into my life.

It is a day to day training… And that’s quiteΒ something to me.

Now, I realize the tone of this post might give it a ranting after taste. I usually do “cute”, “loving” or “sad”… Not “angry”. I usually leave “angry” to those who do it far better than me.

I am not angry per say. I just realized how hard I had worked on my little Cove, and how dear it is to my heart.

I think I have grown as a wannabe writer during the past year. And I think the best proof of that is this new will to defend what I have done so far. Standing for my (little) work, and being proud of it is a big step already. The Cove is my baby, and who knows where it might lead me? Probably not far, but that’ll be my choice to make!

I am not wasting my talent, for whatever it is worth.

I am not.

 

P.S. If you ever read this, my friend, thank you for making me realize that I believed in me more than I thought. πŸ™‚

 

15 thoughts on “Wasted talent…

  1. never ever let someone else try to define you, or your work. You ARE a terrific writer..and like all writers I have ever heard about, do not appreciate people telling you that 1. you are wasting anything, or 2. not living up to your potential. Let it flow right off your back sweetie and keep doing what you are doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes. We write primarily for ourselves and secondarily for others. What we intend to express and teach to others we express and teach to ourselves first; and on the process, we grow. Nobody can define that except us. Nobody can tell if it is good or bad for us or if we’re good at it or not except us either.
    Basically, we write because we love to write, without bias or whatsoever to the acceptance of those on the receiving end (our readers). Constructive criticism is healthy, but pushing it too far to the point of being definitive or somewhat ‘judgemental’ is another story.
    Cranny is an awesome blog, just like those many others who desire to share their respective unique stories to the world. I’m inspired by the way you stood up for your blog. ‘It’ must be proud of you! Lol

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words and very well penned comment!

      I agree that constructive criticism is always welcome… It is even a gift, because always sharing the same view as the others is nice, but criticism, if it is given respectfully, can teach you a thing or two, and open new horizons… It really is a matter of how people deliver their opinions/criticism.

      I really hope the Cove’s proud too hihihihi I used to not take it seriously. Now, although I don’t consider myself a serious writer, I am impressed by all the work I’ve put in the Cove, and I think it would be an insult to my loyal readers not to consider it as such.

      A blog is not just words thrown in a virtual journal. It is the combination of the words sent out and the reaction they provoke (well, to me that is what blogging is about) and by looking down on my blog, I would have the impression I’m telling all the people visiting it, “silly you, spending your time ready my shenanigans!”

      Thanks again for your comment Andrei, it is always a pleasure to read you πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Someone (a friend) said something similar to me about my blog about six months ago. I felt so demeaned and initially really hurt and then I just thought, they don’t understand. They really have no clue. Blogging becomes part of us, when we put our heart and soul into it but some people will never get it. And that’s ok, so long as we never put ourselves down. We know how much this has added to our life and that’s what matters. LOVED your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to read about that Miriam…

      It is funny, because when I started blogging, I expected to be read by people from my suroundings, and maybe a couple of strangers. Now, it is the opposite, the people who visit the Cove are 99% bloggers I didn’t know before I founded it. And I like it like that.

      Looking back, I wonder what kind of reaction I would have had if a friend would have told me she/he was hosting a blog. For me, bloggers blogged for professional reasons, and I didn’t know anything about the kind of cyber community we’re part of….

      So, with a step back, I understand all the people who look puzzled when I mention my blogging addiction, and I don’t blame them… But it can hurt when it comes from someone close πŸ˜‰

      Thank you again for your kind words πŸ™‚ It is always so nice to see you around πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, you’ll see me around for a long time! And yes, I know what you mean. It’s all a learning process isn’t it. I was the same. If you’d asked me a few years ago about blogging I wouldn’t have known too much. But now it’s so different … aren’t we lucky, it’s such a fabulous community we’re part of. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

