Blogging · Me myself and I · Thoughts

I think WordPress is trying to make me feel bad.

I know…

It is childish to think a website could hold a grudge against me. But somehow, I just couldn’t think otherwise yesterday.

Remember lately, when Australia lost its flag in my stats? It was back when my trip planning was beginning to gnaw on my blogging time. It was pretty clever. WP knows dang well how much I value my flags. But after a few days, even if I kept checking, it just didn’t bother me anymore. I figured if I didn’t let it get to me, everything would get back to normal, which it did.

Yesterday, after my first 24 hours straight off the bloggosphere in a long while, I logged in again, and headed to my stats’ page to see if there had been any traffic regardless my absence.

Dang!

The number of readers (“followers” but I just don’t like the word) had dropped by almost forty. Wooooa! I wasn’t disappointed, but rather surprised.

I was a little over 400 before the sudden drop, and thought “Whuuuut?” (recognize the Freja accent here? hehehehe)

I wondered what would happen after my soon to come 10 quiet days in Denmark. If, after gaining  400 and some readers little by little over the past 15 months, I lost 40 overnight, what would happen after a week???

And then I came back to my senses, and smelled the typical WordPress’ “I’m pulling your leg” smell! I was right…. Checking from another page, I found out it was just a glitch… Again! And not a sudden mass abandon of the Cove   LOL

I must admit, WordPress is creative glitch-wise!

Another proof that stats are just numbers, and numbers can lie! Just like The Internets… Just don’t believe them.

Have fun blogging, and forget the rest  🙂

 

 

22 thoughts on “I think WordPress is trying to make me feel bad.

  1. I have found that they enjoy hiding comment notifications from me also. I go to answer a question and find others that I was never even told of. So now I feel the need to check it manually. 😛
    Seeeems like they could figure it out and fix their bugs by now. Haha
    Hope you have a great time in Denmark. Happy travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arghh…. haven’t had this one yet… Or have I and I just haven’t noticed it yet? OMG! OMG! OMG! I am getting paranoïd again….. LOL

      Thank you for the trip wishes 🙂 🙂 I can’t wait… Only 6 nights left, I count them like a kid!

      *Hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. WordPress has bothered me on a couple of occasions as well. Hope you have a lovely trip to Denmark. I wish The Viking and I were going. Happily, his brother and girlfriend are coming here in July. We miss family sometimes. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I have a thought for you and The Viking every now and then these days, dealing with so many Danish matters…. What part of Denmark does The Viking’s family come from again? I’ll make sure to skål in you two’s honor at least once where we are close 😉

      I hope #TeamFurrr is not causing too much trouble at home, the title of your last post (dying to sit down and read it in a giggle-permitted space, just didn’t get the time yet) is making me doubt that 😉

      *Big hugs*

      And, oh! I’m pretty sure the picture was hilarious when WP bothered you… Maybe we should bribe them with liquor, or just buy some for ourselves?? LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehehe… I’ll make sure to raise my glass high in your honor!!

        Last May, the closest I came to Randers, was Viborg, I think. But every corner of Denmark ha its own charm!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha… yet another glitch, courtesy of WordPress 🙂

      I honestly wouldn’t blame your phone… I think WP has a team working on little nothings that remind bloggers of the imperfections of the virtual world!

      Thanks for the comment, it is very comforting to see that many other people around here experience the creative failures of WP 😉 xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re such a daredevil, going against the highly trustable newspaper astrology people! LOL

      Thank you for sticking by, regardless all the warnings… The Cove would be very different if you hadn’t spent so much time around! Muah!

      Like

    1. You’re not the first to mention glitches when it comes to using WP on mobile phones… I don’t do it, so I couldn’t tell, but I think it’s all part of the WP secret annoying plan, hehehehehe

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

