Blogging · funny · International day of the day · Portrait

International Day of the Day…

Today is a very special International Day. It is…

 

International Ferrets’ Day!

 

217254_5030011233_6711_n

 

Meet Pippi! Pippi was my little brother’s only pet so far. My parents bought the furry thing for his birthday in 2002. (if my memory is good, and it isn’t, but I am guessing it doesn’t really matter all that much anyway. The exact year, that is, not the quality of my memory.)

I was recovering from a serious surgery at my parents’ house back then, and I was the lucky one who got to babysit the critter for a week or two, before little bro would come home, in Trois-Rivières.

Pippi was just a baby, and I got to name him. Ferrets have a mild musky scent even after being operated on. Nothing unpleasant, but the smell is very recognizable. The first time I got to hold him in my hands, I couldn’t help to tell him “Ooooh tu sens le pipi, toi!” (Ooooh you smell like pee!) And Pippi it was.

The little thing was just adorable. He was very cuddly and playful. The first thing that hit me (after the smell) was that picking up a ferret is a little like holding a furry slinky in your hands…

 

slinky-classic-toy

You remember the “game”, right?

Next thing is that ferrets have 2 speeds… Very-dang-crazy-in-the-head energic, and dead. Here are a few pictures of the “dead” phase (pretty much 70 to 80% of the time)

 

Comfort, for ferrets, is a very creative concept. I’ll let you judge by the photos!

Another thing the little devils crave is water. Pippi looooooooved taking a bath and swimming around. My parents have a huge bathtub (yes, I love it too!!) and here’s Mr Furball having a blast…

 

 

You probably noticed that most of the pictures are a little blurry… Which is absolutely not the photographer or the camera’s fault. Pippi was awake, and therefore in looking-on-a-speed-fix phase!

As much as he loved bathing and being really clean, one of Pippi’s favorite hobbies, beside stealing everything stealable, and hiding it under cabinets, was digging. Dirt digging, and in the messiest ways.

Mom had to hide every pot plant in the house when Pippi and little bro visited. But on his “birthday” we always arranged to offer him something to play with…

 

29520_400000311233_6893794_n.jpg

(he had just been put in the box… I promise that 15 seconds after this picture, there was dirt everywhere in the room, and Pippi was completely brown, and ready for a second round in the tub!)

I was talking about the stealing stuff just before… Here’s an obvious “caught in the act” of stealing a pen that would have disappeared until the next vacuuming…

 

29520_400000251233_4352284_n

 

 

Just more shots…. Because… Well, just because. There’s no need for a reason to look at ferret pictures. They’re basically long kittens!

Sadly, in February of 2010, Pippi died, leaving the whole family heartbroken. But after a full life of knicknack hiding, peanut butter cravings and sneacking in the sock drawer. Oh, and sleeping a loooot, in the most bizarre positions.

I can’t end this post on a sad note… so here’s one of my all time favorite YouTube videos. Beware, it is EXTREMELY weird. But I feel like International Ferret Day wouldn’t be complete without multi colored ferrets dancing and singing with an awkward high pitched voice. LOL

 

 

Happy Ferret Day to all!!    🙂

7 thoughts on “International Day of the Day…

  1. They are such cute little critters. A friend of mine used to have a couple that had the run of the house. One of them loved the styrofoam inside the Scrabble game box. The box was one of those big square ones big enough to hold the unfolded rotating board. This little ferret would curl up inside the box pretty much as soon as it hit the floor. He curled up and napped in there every time we played that game.

    I also knew a guy who lived in a pretty big apartment and had three. He had a designated room for them with all kinds of stuff for them to play on and in. They really are too cute for words. Thanks for sharing your cute little guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I soooo agree… They are the cutest! And surprisingly clever too!

      And I never got tired of the jumping dance when the little thing was excited. Endless entertainment, if you overlook the loooooooooooong napping lol

      Thanks for your visit 🙂 You’re always welcome in the Cove xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Miriam 🙂 All these little creatures are such a source of happy moments… They’re much smarter than they can appear at first. I had mice for a few years, and they too were a great source of smiles for me! These tiny clever furry things were a lot of fun to take care of…

      Thanks for your comment 🙂 I hope you’re spending a great week!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey. Cyranny, you’re right, our little furry critters can be a source of great joy and lots of laughs.
        My week’s been ok. The new job (and boss) is proving to be quite a challenge!) Enjoy yours 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

