Blogging · Fiction · Prose · stories

The Warmth of the Morning…

 

bll

 

The warmth of her skin
next to mine, surpassed
the light of the sun encompassing
the breadth of the city,

I turned my head, and wondered
why my fate had led me here,
why at this moment, this second, the last breath
I took, before I awakened and looked upon
her sleeping form,
why we chose this time to be together?

Life and its many choices
as with Love and its narrow pathways,
the steep sides of the mountain to climb,
the rockfalls, and gaping uncertainty that perils
my path, the signs leading me onward
the words written by your hand, the letter of
many pages, and words to comprehend
their ways and their intentions, written and sealed
with your kiss,

Your kiss, being the last thing to remember
and the first thing to look forward to
when my eyes once again, were graced
by the sight of your form, the gentle
undulation of your breathing, considered
while my nighttime tribulations, vanished in the
light of day,

But you slept on, seemingly unaware
of my thoughts and my fleeting uncertainties
chased away from the growing conviction
that we were, indeed, made for each other,

While I rambled on, and fought the doubt
and light through the curtains, I sensed
your gaze falling upon my form
unclothing me with your intimacy, and caressing
any further thoughts of why now, and not then,
I knew, you were considering many of the same things
that were running, leaping, flowing through my mind,

The harshness of the morning glare, the feeling of your fingers
the cancellation of the two, drew me back into your arms

back into the fate, that was you….

6 thoughts on “The Warmth of the Morning…

  1. This is a really beautiful piece and engaging. If you haven’t written any books you should, you’d be great at. I love your descriptions and at the end the warning implied in the “harshness of the morning glare”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Mandibelle πŸ™‚ Much much appreciated feedback! I think we all write for our own pleasure in the first place, but getting kind words like yours from people who have such a talented pen is really heartwarming πŸ™‚ Thanks again!!

      Completely changing the subject here… But I noticed the Oilers were still in the run for the big cup! We’re out already (Canadien’s fan here), but I hope your team goes a long way!! πŸ˜‰ Fingers crossed!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much for your compliments and for the goodluck for the Oiler’s. We were hoping the Canadian’s would make it into this round, it’s always good to have more Canadian teams in (except Calgary). We’re leading 2 to 1 against Anaheim and last game at home was a terrible loss so I hope tomorrow they have their act together. Thanks again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

