Blogging · flags · funny · Sharing · Thoughts · Travel

Looking back on March… And April!

A little late, but I was busy… Meh, ok! I just lazied out a little bit, but they say “better late than never”, and I say that too! Especially when I am late, like I am, and let’s face it… we’re just losing time right now!

Regulars in the Cove know what this is about, but if you are new, or didn’t happen to see one of my earlier “Looking back on…” posts, here’s a quick explanation…

We all know how frustrating stats can become when you blog. Focusing on numbers is sometimes nerve wrecking and I decided to switch my main interest on flags! So instead of wanting to hit a certain amount of visitors, or views, or likes… I simply want to conquer the world! Yes, just that!

And here’s my world map, after about 16 months of blabbering around:

map2017-04-11

Pretty cool, uh? Well, I think so, and every month, I take time to welcome the past month’s new flags. I know, I know… I kinda skipped March, but not really, since today will be about March and April’s new visitors!

I just want to give my usual warning… There is no intention to mock anybody here. I don’t want to make fun of the countries I add to my collection! I just try to be original with the fun facts I dig out.

Ready? Set…. Go!

French Polynesia

french-polynesia-grunge-flag_61-1215

The French post-impressionist painter Paul Gauguin (1848 – 1903) and Belgian singer Jacques Brel (1929 – 1978) are buried at the cemetery in Atuona (on the island Hiva ‘Oa, one of the Marquesas island).

Ok, not saying that I would make a detour to see either Gauguin or Brel’s graves, but I thought that it was a breath of fresh air after all the “Père Lachaise Cemetary this, and Père Lachaise Cemetary that” fuss!

The island of Rangiroa has the only winery in the world growing on a coral atoll. It is called Vin du Tahiti.

Stop there, Polynésie d’amour… You had me at “winery”! lol

Wear a Tiare flower on your left ear to state that you are married. Wear it on your right ear to indicate that you are looking.

That is a great, easy and cute custom. My first thought was that some men wouldn’t be too excited about wearing a flower on their ear… But then again, what wouldn’t they do for sex, right? 😉  I really hope married men looking for an adventure are kind enough to wear both flowers. I like to know when I’m playing with fire… and I am pretty sure I’m not the only one!!

(ref: http://travelboulevard.be/facts-tahiti/)

Jordan

1 (6)

In Jordan, it is said that you should avoid excessive admiration of any item in the house. The hosts will feel obligated to offer it to you to demonstrate his generosity (Jordanian custom)

Geez, right now I wish Anne Jacobsen was from Jordan… *Sigh* Yes… she is Mads Mikkelsen’s wife.  Lucky b… Sorry, tourette’s syndrome… Can’t help it! LOL

As a woman you should never touch a man who is not your husband and vice versa.

Ok, so that basically means that in Jordan, I can’t touch anything with balls… (I am not married) but I wonder if cowards count? Not that I plan to go to Jordan anytime soon… or touch men… or try to bend well established rules…


It is considered polite to refuse a meal three times here before actually accepting it.

I like that custom… And I like the extra time it gives the host, to realize stuff like “oh shit, I don’t have enough food for an extra mouth!!” or “Oh shit! I didn’t call to have my better half’s approval!” and leave it to one invitation, one refusal, then just an awkward moment of silence…

(Réf: https://www.mytravelaffairs.com/jordan-interesting-facts/ &

Lesotho

1 (7).jpg

The lowest point above sealevel in Lesotho is 1500 metres, making it the country with the highest low point in the world.

The Maldives, on the other hand, have the lowest high point… And you are very welcome!

Lesotho did not gain the name “the mountain kingdom” for nothing. Nearly two thirds of the country consist of mountains (2200 – 3000 metres). And when driving through the country, you’ll see mountains, lot’s of mountains, in every shape and in every form. There is no way to avoid them, but just to enjoy it when passing through. Furthermore, the lowlands (1500 – 1800 m) consist of 15%, the foothills (1800 – 2200 m ) is also 15% and the mountains (2200 – 3000 m) take up two thirds of Lesotho.

I like mountains, but I really don’t have that much to say about them… It is just that it reminded me of a dear friend who absolutely loves mountains. I thought he’d like to know about this one… Mountain Kingdom seems like paradise made just for him!

Not many countries can say that their traditional dress is a blanket. The Basotho blanket is a very common sight in Lesotho, often with colourful patterns. The blanket is not only used to protect the Basotho against the cold, but is also worn as a status symbol and cultural identification. Almost entirely made of wool, they protect very well against the harsh cold winter.

It is not traditional, but I wish it were in Denmark too. Those dang Vikings have the best duvets in the world (ok, I haven’t tried all the others, but I live very well with my biased ways!!) and I would walk around town wrapped in one anytime, just to match the locals!

(Réf: https://www.thetravellingchilli.com/13-interesting-facts-about-lesotho/)

Uruguay

1 (8)

There are more sheep in Uruguay than humans! There are also three cows for every person in the country.

One of two things… There are a looot of animals in Uruguay, or very few people. Imagine, that’s just the sheep and the cows… Or maybe they’re the only animals there? Maybe…?

Foot-and-mouth disease outbreak in Uruguay in 1999 caused several nations to stop the import of beef and lamb from the country. Efforts were then made to eradicate the disease successfully.

Nothing funny to say about this one. It was just the first time I read “foot-and-mouth disease”. And it sounded funny. It isn’t, though!

Uruguayans go to bars not just to become intoxicated, but to socialize.

Now, I’d like to have more information about that one, because, most evidently, I have been occasionally going to bars completely missing the whole point for the past 20 years!! And if so, I’d like to publicly appologize to my friends for the many many times I have socialized in bars, not knowing we were there just to get hammered! I am guessing they won’t remember most of it, being good not-Uruguayans, but still…. Sorry!!

(Réf: http://thefactfile.org/uruguay-interesting-facts/)

 

Bosnia & Herzegovina

bosnia-flag-4

Bosnia is believed to have been inhabited since at least the Neolithic Age!

I think the key word here is “believed”. Not that I have a very scientific mind (*giggles*) but this is still pretty blurry to me. Already, this information comes from The Internets… If even The Internets are not sure about something, I would tend to doubt it. A lot.

Its industry consists of steel, coal, zinc, lead, iron ore, manganese, bauxite, clothing and vehicle assembly.

Semi interesting, maybe, but when I lived in Guinea, Dad worked for a mining company that dug out bauxite, to transorm it… So this talked to me.

Bosnia and Herzegovina is nicknamed the “Heart Shaped Land” due to the country’s slight heart shape

Here is a Bosnia & Herzegovina map:

cq5dam.thumbnail.588.368.png

“Slight” is appropriate here…  It does take a little imagination to see a heart. But that’s just my opinion, I’ll let you judge…

 

Honduras

honduras.jpg

It’s completely normal to find blonde haired, blue eyed Hondurans on the bay islands. They are direct descendents of the British Pirates that came here over 500 years ago.

Pirates…  Pirates’ stories are always welcome!!  Arrrrrh!

It rains fishes in the country. Referred to as Lluvia de Peces or “Rain of Fish,’ the event is said to occur at least once a year in the tiny town of Yoro. No one really knows what causes it but in the 1970’s, the event was recorded by a National Geographic team. The fishy rains still occur and locals point out that the fishes that drop from the skies are not local and they are only native to the Atlantic Ocean located almost 200 kms away!

Isn’t nature just great?? Or is that an intricate way for aliens to try to establish some contact with us? Either way, I heard people from Honduras really like to sing the old tune “It’s raining maids” while picking up dinner from the front yard’s grass!

(Réf: http://travelexperta.com/2011/08/fun-facts-about-honduras-you-didnt-know.html & http://thefactfile.org/honduras-facts/)

 

That’s about it for this time. I hope you learned a thing or two, had a good giggle and opened you horizons a little more… 🙂  Until next month, Lovelies!

One thought on “Looking back on March… And April!

Leave a Reply

