Blogging · Me myself and I · Thoughts

My.head.is.going.to.explode!

large.jpg

 

Ugh.

“Proves you have one” right? Well, I’m 39 years old, I know that I have a head, thank you very much!

I don’t remember mentionning it in the Cove, but for the last 15 years or so (I’m not actually keeping track, it is not something I like to celebrate) I suffered, and still suffer from chronic headache.

The level of pain pretty much varies from “Am I having a headache-free day? Oh! No… It is still there…” to “Would you please swing that baseball bat in my face to ease the pain?”.

It sucks. Not the worst thing in the world, I know people who deal with a lot worst, but still, it sucks.

It all started a little bit before I was diagnosed with severe depression. Thinking about it, I think I made a doublé back then. Depression and burn-out. I picture it as if I had let the stress in my life build up so much, that I broke my stress-gauge. After that, I ended up having only two possible levels of stress. Stressed (no matter the level) and not stressed.

It is not as bad as it used to be, though. Thank God. The first year or two, I experienced migraines that made it impossible for me to even think about getting out of bed. Those of you who had/have migraines will know what I am talking about. I don’t miss these moments when light, sounds and other stimulus provoked almost unbearable pain.

I went to the doctor. They tested me in every way possible. I think that the next step was to crack my skull open and try to poke it with little sticks asking “does this hurt?” no. “does this hurt?” no…   But we didn’t get there.

After much investigation, and leaving me to think I might have a brain tumor or a latent for of epilepsy for a while, I was told I suffered stress cephalea. Which is a fancy name for “sorry, we tried our best, but we don’t know what’s wrong with you!”

I was told changing my eating habits might help, but the thing is, I don’t eat most of the things on the list of headache-inducing things I might ingest. Except wine. And since the pain is there all the time, I am not leaving my dear Pinot Noir. Thanks, but no thanks.

Anyway… It’s been almost an hour since I got up now. The painkilllers are doing their job, and the headache is fading little by little. I’ll soon be good to go, for another day.

If anyone suffers chronic headache, and has found a way to make it more bearable… Please leave your tricks in the comment box below.

 

11 thoughts on “My.head.is.going.to.explode!

  1. one thing that most people with chronic headache have in common is depression. The easiest thing I have found to help with my depression and the lovely accompanying headache is to breathe differently. Normally I just breathe. yea, I don”t think about what I am doing at all. The headache curing breathing is different. It is basically..take three fast deep cleansing breaths..ya know suck that air in and out deeply and as fast as you can. Then take a couple of very slow deep breaths. Fill your lungs up and hold for a count of three then breathe out through your nose slowly. Sounds incredibly stupid but it will automatically release serotonin which someone with depression does not easily do on their own. serotonin is the “I feel good” neurotransmitter. Oh, and try a sweet red instead of a dry red wine. Less serotonin inhibitors there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the great tips, Suze 🙂 This morning, the pills already did their job, but I’ll make sure to try the breathing exercises next time the pain raises above the “I barely notice it” level. So simple, yet it makes a lot of sense, and I can’t believe I never heard of that before.

      I hope you’re having a nice week… Keep picture-hunting those feathered friends, your pictures were great (I wanted to comment your post yesterday, but WP didn’t agree with me again!!) We’re pretty lucky birdy-wise here, even if we are living in the big city. I’ve been trying to catch a pic of a woodpecker that lives around the house… Those little things fascinate me, I can’t look at them without wondering how they don’t get a concussion (and headaches lol)

      *hugs*

      Like

  2. I’m so sorry you are dealing with this sweet Cyranny!!!!! If the meds aren’t helping have you considered acupuncture?! I feel like I’ve heard those types of complimentary therapies help a ton. I haven’t experienced it for myself, but maybe it would be worth a try? Sending big hugs!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was facing the keyboard this morning thinking “why the dang would you write about your headaches, it is basically like writing a post about breathing!” But since it was bad today, I couldn’t think about anything else, and decided I might as well vent it out.

      And here it is…. Precious tips coming in, possibly making a mega difference in my life in a near future! I must say, as crazy as it might seem (I have those daily headaches since so many years!!) I never thought about acupuncture before, but it is a great idea! I’ll check it out for sure, and I’ll let you know 🙂 🙂 🙂 Thank you so much!

      I hope everything’s going well in the Golden State!! Sending big big hugs back!! 🙂 xx

      P.S. Suze’s trick to-ta-lly works, it is almost magic! If you know anyone suffering from headaches, it is a fantastic instant way to temporary relieve the pain!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yayyy! I hope some of these tips are a permanent solution. And ahhh good to know! I am definitely gonna keep that in my back pocket for my patients 😉 . Have a greet weekend, Cyr!

        Like

  3. Headaches are the worst. I get them occasionally, not enough to complain (at all) and I can’t imagine how you deal with it … your pain threshold must be high.
    I knew a lady who died in her 80’s who had never had a headache. I recall trying to explain to her what it was like to have a headache, but she was completely unable to grasp what it was like other than she knew what pain was in general terms. Lucky lady – sorry, you probably don’t want to know about people like that 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehe, “Au contraire” I am happy to know some people don’t have to experience this kind of pain.

      I guess we get used to pretty much anything… Although the “swing-that-baseball-bat-in-my-face-Please” days are a pain in the… head, and make thinking straight a challenge, most of my days are almost painless.

      Thanks for dopping by again 🙂 Always a pleasure to read you! xx

      Like

  4. Headaches are what I mostly suffer from and as always the doctors advised that I change my eating habit and eat more fruits and fluids. Try to relax the much you can and consider trying out Suze’s tips above. Take good care. Hugs to you. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww sorry to read that you get those a lot too. :/

      Relaxing is always a winner, but since I can’t sit back and go to my happy place (I’ll let you guess where…. lol) at work, I am always open to new tips… And Suze’s is Fan-tas-tic!! You can totally feel the serotonin kick in and the relief is incredibly quick. I recommend trying it, you’ll be surprised! 🙂

      *hugs* back to you 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

