Blogging · Fiction · Prose · Thoughts

Looking Out…

2

 

Looking out of the hotel window

wondering where in the City, she was tonight

 

Last night, and the night before

I would attest, that she and I were

more than an item, more of a trend

the ones to watch and mimic,

 

Tonight though, she is again

on the prowl,

wanting something, that my words cannot

touch, nor my caress, enrapture

 

The words we spoke, first in love

then in doubt, visible like scars upon my skin

marks upon my heart,

Words of anger, and regret

of wanting but not keeping,

 

I possessed the feeling

the ownership of which, was denied to me

in the end,

I wanted more, than just the warmth of one, no two

nights, I wanted to be, and the two of us to be,

but she wanted no more than to stop such talk,

and roll over without compromise, the bed growing

colder as I waited,

and I waited,

 

The waiting stopped with the morning light

a card, hastily written, terse and to the point,

lacking the sensuality of our first encounter

the touch of our bodies, the embrace that started,

the end is neigh,

the end of us,

 

Looking out of the hotel window

wondering where in the City, she was tonight

Did she stop, and think back

to the one she left behind, solitary and alone

wanting the passion of their meeting to set the tone

for the rest of their lives,

 

The rest of his life….

Leave a Reply

