Blogging · cinema · Me myself and I · music · Thoughts

Relax…

20170614_135531-1.jpg

 

Nikki, from Flying Through Water , is now holding a weekly one-word challenge. This week’s word is “Relax”…

Being relaxed is something most people seek, it seems natural to try to avoid stress… What could I possibly write about it, that wouldn’t fall short of interest?

And a few minutes ago, as I was going about my day, I just took a second to think how relaxed I was at that very moment. (stopping to write this post took me out of that perfectly relaxed state, but don’t worry, I’ll get back to it as soon as I am done here)

Some could think that the perfect place to relax, would be a warm bath. And I almost agree… As much as I enjoy spending time in the bathtub, lying there in perfumed water still allows my thoughts to wander. And to be perfectly relax, I have to put my brain on “stop”.

Not an easy task, let me tell you!

There is one thing that does that to me, and combined with the right background music, it just gets me focused on my hands and on the lyrics of my favorite songs, definately driving me away from Worryland and/or Stressville!

Origami.

I already talked about my 1000 cranes challenge in the past.  I still have between 150 and 200 more to make to complete it (and make a wish). So, to be safe, I set my mind on 200. When I wrote that post, I thought about it, but didn’t start the folding just then.

It seemed like a waste of time.

But a few days ago, I picked a pack of paper sheets, and got back to it, wondering what could have made it so addictive when I did the 800 and some first cranes… After folding the first few birds (it comes back quickly, just like bike riding… But I needed to think a lot for the first ones still…) I got it.

My hands started this familiar ballet, and my focus switched from “what now? what now? what now?” to “and next… and next… and next…” without getting caught with worries, questions, or neverending “to-do” lists waiting for me.

That’s why I spent so many hours repeating the same little routine, time after time after time… Because it feels good. At least, it feels good to me.

I could have done it in silence, but I put Dirty Dancing’s soundtrack in back ground, and just sat back and enjoyed myself.

Now,  I’ll go back to my feel good crane folding, but not without leaving you a few links in case you’d like to try it for yourself… Who knows? Might do the trick for you too?

 

easy to follow crane folding tutorial

 

 

I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of Dirty Dancing. The day it doesn’t give me chills, or make me weak in the knees, I’ll be dead inside!

I got a bit carried away in my Youtube research for this post. So for all of you (mostly girls, I presume, but guys should take notes too… lol) who like the movie, here are a couple of classic scenes from it…

Enjoy!… And relax.

 

 

For Flying Through Water weekly prompt: Relax

5 thoughts on “Relax…

  1. I tried a swan…..the end result, even with the step by step info was….well………..less than birdlike. I’m off to relax now..my front porch swing is screaming my name!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you so much for joining in Cyranny!!! 🙂 I am smiling from ear to ear reading this. I LOVE Dirty Dancing too. That first scene of her practicing…going across the bridge. ❤ ❤ ❤ I adore Baby!
    I will try that crane. I've never been any good at this but I will try! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

