Blogging · funny · Me myself and I · Thoughts

Thank you life, for stupid… (4)

24b12374e8a315f1d1a59d9d53cd5e4e

I once worked as a directory assistance agent. My job was to find phone numbers for people. Boring job, but it paid the bills, and I was working the graveyard shift, so we had the bonus funny callers, among which horny men, drunk people and a mix of the two.

And there was the occasional planin dumb caller, who usually made my day (read “night”).

This is a true call I received one night, and I still think about it regularly since. If I could, I’d pay dinner to that person, because without knowing it, she made me put a lot of things in perspective, and from time to time, I replay those about 30 seconds of my life in my head, I giggle, and tell myself things aren’t so bad after all! So here it is…

 

Me: Directory assistance, what is the name you are looking for?

Her: I’d like to make a collect call please.

Me: Sorry, you’re not at the right department madam. You’ll have to call the operator for that…

Her: Oh! Ok…. What is their number?

Me: You have to call 0.

Her: And how do I do that??

Me: You press “0” on your telephone.

*Beeeeeeeep!*  (sound of someone dialing – obviously the zero, but I am just guessing at this point – while we’re still online)

Me: You have to hang up first, madam…

Her: Dang! This whole shit is complicated!

And said lady hangs up on me…. Frustrated at the very intricate procedure. I’d like to point out that she had to call 411 to get to me. I can figure how exhausted she must have felt after that much efforts…

Life, uh?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Thank you life, for stupid… (4)

  1. Oh that’s brilliant.
    People are so stupid.
    I have loads of these stories I could fill at least half a dozen posts with these stories.
    “tales from the call centre days”
    Ok I may have to do that when I have time.
    I did broadband tech support for a couple of years and it convinced me that there should be a mandatory IQ and Common sense exam they must pass before getting any form of technology.
    I had a woman on the phone I was trying to tell her how to fix something on her computer I told her to right click on the desktop
    The conversation went like this
    Me: “so what have you got on the screen now?”
    Her: “nothing happened”
    Me: “you should have a menu appear on the screen”
    Her: “no, nothing is there”
    *Repeat the instructions several times*
    Me: (banning my head on the desk)
    “ok tell me exactly what you did there?”
    Her: “well you told me to write click on my desktop, so I’ve written the word click on my desk”

    I wish this was made up but sadly it’s not.
    Hope this gives you a laugh

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha HA!

      Good one! *panting*

      I am sure people who never worked with public think we make that kind of stuff up… It is flattering to see they believe I have such a good imagination 😉

      Like

      1. Tell me about it people who don’t work with the public have no idea how stupid they are.
        This is the simplest story I have I have so many. I think i should write them down and post them on here as a new series and ask others for their stories as well you interested?

        Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re out there… Driving cars, operating surgery on people, and taking care of your kids, and of your money, and other important stuff… (and for my American friends; “they” are out there… CARRYING GUNS!)

      The world IS a scary place… But funny, nonetheless 🙂 It must be life’s way of excusing itself! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

