Blogging · cinema · Me myself and I · Thoughts · Travel

Cyranny’s International Lovelies’ Film Festival…

20160926_202327-1

 

I love cinema. Especially foreign cinema. (especially… yes, Danish cinema, how did you know??)

Every year, I attend Montreal Film Festival. Two weeks of intense International Cinema immersion. I don’t have anything against American blockbusters, but I know that there are so many gems from all around the planet, that don’t make it to the main movie theaters…

Sometimes, I choose a movie because of the country it comes from, and sometimes, I discover a country’s culture through a film…

Looking at my flag collection here on WordPress (you all know how much I like my flags), I thought I could try a little something. I’d like to ask for your help, my dear Lovelies, to discover the cinematographic culture of your part of the world. So…

What is, in your opinion, the best movie coming from your home country?

Please leave the title in the comment box below, and/or the link to its trailer… Β And I’ll check it out!!

 

Here’s my suggestion. The story takes place only partly in Canada, but it is a Canadian film… It is a very powerful drama about two young adults going through a rough journey to their roots, at the death of their mother. A must-see.

 

I’ll be waiting for your picks…

 


 

Here are the trailers, for the movies proposed in the comments….

 

Scotland

 

 

Australia

 

11 thoughts on “Cyranny’s International Lovelies’ Film Festival…

  1. When it comes to films about Scotland most of them are bullshit. I have already told you that Braveheart is not historical accurate in oh so many ways.
    Highlander is also shit (historically speaking, I kind of love the cheesiness of the film itself)
    The only one that springs to mind that is about Scottish people, made by A Scottish director and is a genuinely great film is Trainspotting.
    Except the creepy baby but that freaks me out everytime. Also haven’t seen the sequal yet and have never done drugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It doesn’t have to be “about” Scotland πŸ™‚ … I am looking for movies made in your country, regardless the subject πŸ™‚

      I do agree that Trainspotting is a great pick! Very disturbing in some scenes, but that’s a good thing, I think!

      Thank you for your participation!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It has been years since I seen it but I will never forget that damn baby. Terrifying.

        If you want another one, I haven’t personally seen it, but I’ve heard that the Angel’s Share is a fantastic film

        Like

    2. I saw “Sunshine on Leith” at a film festival a few years back and loved it! surely any song with no less than 14 Proclaimers songs in the soundtrack can’t be a bad export from Scotland?

      Like

  2. That looks pretty intense. Its only in the last few years I’ve appreciated subtitled films – and one of the most amazing films I’ve seen is in French though I believe they did release an English version, but to me now that would spoil it – “The Intouchables” – powerful because its a true story and it features the amazing talent of Ludovico Einaudi (listen to Fly and Passagio etc if you have time and love piano). Love the film festivals.

    Anyway, from ‘around here’ – theres so many to choose of so many genres – “The Castle”, “Mad Max”, “Priscilla, Queen of the Desert” (with Hugo Weaving and Guy Pearce no less!), “Wolf Creek” πŸ™‚ but my pick is this one – lots of local sterotypes and lots of fun

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Incendies is very hard… Not a movie to watch when you already have the blues. Especially since it is based on a true story, and I won’t give any spoiler, but the last punch feels like one in the stomach!

      It took me a lot of time to appreciate subtitled movies, because we’re so not used to them in North America… But now I’d rather see any movie subtitled than dubbed. The actors’ voices add so much to the feeling of he movie!!

      Thank you for your suggestions πŸ™‚ I’ll give you my appreciation when I get to watch them πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Just added it to the post πŸ™‚

        I knew about this one, but for some reason, I haven’t seen it… Now it is definately on my to-see list!!

        Thank you xx

        Like

    1. Thank you Yvonne! It does look like a very interesting movie, and I like the fact that it is so different from the other picks for Australia πŸ™‚

      I love good drama movies πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

