Blogging · Daily Prompt · Jukebox · Me myself and I · music · Thoughts

Cyranny’s Jukebox…

Via Today’s Daily Prompt: Black

28db289c96541c6415467e286817e30f_large

 

Today’s daily prompt could have evoked a lot of things… But it so vividly brought back this song to my mind, that I just couldn’t write about any other shade of Black.

I listened to Pearl Jam a lot in my early twenties, and I remember this back then friend of mine who was a total fan. We’d hide in his room for hours, dim the lights, sip on beer and sit back listening to the bands songs in silence… There was absolutely no need to talk. The music was our communion, and this tune was one of our favorites.

The last part always resonated with me…

I know someday you’ll have a beautiful life
I know you’ll be a star
In somebody else’s sky
But why
Why
Why can’t it be
Why can’t it be mine?

I think I am very good at letting go people dear to me for their own good. I’ve failed a couple of times, but in general I manage to. I have an intense soul, and when I love, I sometimes (often) love too much. And I’ve let many stars leave my skies…

This song is a cruel, yet honest reminder of that.

I hope you’ll enjoy it.

 

2 thoughts on “Cyranny’s Jukebox…

    1. Aww… Not soooo young anymore, but that’s just a number on our driver’s licence, right?? Paint it Black would have been a good choice too… I could have gone for AC-DC too now that I’m thinking more about it… But Pearl Jam was a must when I saw the Daily Prompt’s post 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

